website banner

Victoria Kinnaird

             LGBT YA Author

                                Vampires. Rock stars. Superheroes. Teenagers.

Victoria Kinnaird is 29 years old and lives in Glasgow, Scotland. She has been writing since she was 15 years old. Victoria loves rock music, and 11 of her tattoos are related to bands that she loves!


Victoria's debut novel "The Red Sun Rises" was released in September 2013 by Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing. The groundbreaking novel, which was praised for featuring an all male teen love triangle, became an Amazon international bestseller on release day. The couple at the heart of the story, Eren and Corbijn, were nominated for the Young Adult and Teen Reader's Book Couple of the Year award in 2013 and were the only gay couple to be featured.


"The Red Sun Rises" was the first book in The Red Sun Rises Trilogy. The second book in the series, "The Red Sun Rises: Fire and Ash" was released in March 2014 and went on to win The Kindle Hub's Best YA LGBT Book award in 2014. "(Birth) Day of the Dead" a standalone novella from The Red Sun Rises universe, was released on November 1st 2014.


The third novel in the series, "The Red Sun Rises: Seven Letters" was released by Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing in March 2015. The book went on to become an international bestseller, hitting #1 on Amazon UK's YA LGBT chart on release day.


Victoria's current release is "Fake It", a YA rock'n'roll romance and the first book in a new series called "The Keswick Chronicles".


The characters from "Fake It" made their first appearance in "The One and Only", a short story featured in Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly's Fractured Fairy Tales Anthology. The anthology was released on December 3rd, 2014. "Fake It" was released on January 23rd 2016. "Fake It" was a #1 hot new release on Amazon USA's Young Adult Music Fiction chart, and hit #2 on the hot new release chart on Amazon USA's LGBT YA chart. It would go on to achieve 5 Star status with Reader's Favorite. "Fake It" was also a Rainbow Awards 2016 Finalist, receiving an honourable mention in the judging stages of the competition.




The Kindle Hub Best LGBT YA Novel 2014 - awarded to The Red Sun Rises: Fire and Ash


S&T Awards Best LGBT Book 2nd Place - awarded to Fake It


Nerd Girl 5 Star Review - awarded to The Red Sun Rises and The Red Sun Rises: Fire and Ash


Black Words White Pages 5 star review - awarded to Fake It


Reader's Favorite 5 Star review - awarded to Fake It


Rainbow Awards 2016 Finalist/Honourable Mention - awarded to Fake It


Victoria has recently released The Red Sun Rises Boxset, a special edition collection that includes the first 3 novels in The Red Sun Rises Series, along with five short stories and exclusive character artwork.


Her next novel will be "Take It: The Keswick Chronicles Book 2". Following the release of "Take It", Victoria will begin work on "Struck: The Lightning Project Book 1". Set in modern day New York, "Struck" charts the creation and adventures of a group of teenage superheroes.


Victoria has also recently announced a brand new 3 novel arc for The Red Sun Rises Series, starting with "The Red Sun Rises: Shadow Killer" which will be released in 2018.